Skip navigation

Climate change: Perspectives from the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE) President

Join VfCA and Dr. Mark Schipp, to learn about the relationship between climate and animal health from the perspective of the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE)

Veterinarians for Climate Action (VfCA) are honoured to welcome Dr. Mark Schipp, Australian Chief Veterinary Officer and President of the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE), for an exclusive webinar.

Terrestrial and aquatic animal production play an important role in the sustenance and livelihoods of the world’s growing population, but must adapt to a changing world.

The climate and animal production have a complex relationship, which each having the potential to negatively affect the other. Along with current threats of animal diseases, including zoonoses, climate change presents a profound mitigation challenge for the globe, as we face multi-faceted impacts will be highly variable across different ecosystems, and will require global stewardship and collaboration.

Climate change will generate new and significant challenges to health security and sustainable development, while also presenting opportunities for Veterinary Services to demonstrate their value to society through supporting risk mitigation and adaptation. 

Join Dr. Schipp as he presents learnings and perspectives from the front line of global animal health and welfare.

To receive the latest factual information from a leading global authority on animal health, please join us on this webinar.

 

Who should attend:

While the content will resonate with veterinarians and veterinary nurses, VfCA are making this webinar open and inclusive for anyone with a passion for animals and their wellbeing.

There are no limits on attendees per organisation and we would like to encourage as many people as possible to join live to ask questions of our expert speaker.

 

Webinar Recording:

This webinar will be recorded and shared after the event so anyone who is unable to attend can watch at a time convenient to them.

Webinar Start Time: 15:00 AEDT (VIC/NSW/TAS/ACT) / 14:30 ACDT (SA) / 14:00 AEST (Queensland) / 13:30 ACST (NT) / 12:00 AWST (WA)

Agenda (Melbourne/Sydney time):

  • 15:00 AEDT - VfCA Welcome & Acknowledgement
  • 15:05 AEDT – OIE and the Climate Crisis (Dr. Mark Schipp)
  • 15:35 AEDT – Thoughts from VfCA
  • 15:45 AEDT – Open Q&A with speaker
  • 16:00 AEDT – Webinar Ends

 

Mark-Schipp-image-3-199x300.jpgAbout Dr. Mark Schipp:

Dr. Schipp was appointed Chief Veterinary Officer of Australia in 2011.

He is Australia’s Delegate at the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE) where he is the current elected President of the OIE World Assembly.

Dr. Schipp leads Australia’s national responses to emergency animal disease incursions. He works to strengthen the veterinary services of countries in our region so they are able to detect and respond to emerging infectious diseases of concern to both human and animal health. He has been active in leading Australian agriculture’s response to the global threat of antimicrobial resistance.

 

About the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE):

The OIE is the inter-governmental organisation responsible for improving animal health, animal welfare and veterinary public health worldwide, across terrestrial and aquatic production systems and for wildlife.

 

WHEN
March 24, 2021 at 3:00pm - 4pm
WHERE
Online (Zoom)
CONTACT
James Mack, VfCA Volunteer
141 RSVPS

Will you come?