Skip navigation

Achieving change through collective action: lessons from the Marriage Equality Campaign

A Vets for Climate Action webinar

 

 


What is campaigning and why does advocacy work?

The outcomes of COP26 have made one thing clear: the time for urgent, united action on climate change is now. So how can individuals, organisations and communities work together to influence politicians to take climate action?

Veterinarians for Climate Action are excited to welcome Brooke Horne, co-founder of the Equality Campaign, the lead organisation for ‘Yes’ in the 2017 Marriage Equality Postal Survey. In this presentation, Brooke will walk us through what it took to build and win a national campaign. Brooke will then be joined by VfCA’s CEO, Alix Foster Vander Elst, for an open conversation on the lessons that can be applied to the climate action movement.


Who should attend:

The content presented in this webinar will be invaluable to anyone who wishes to learn how successful campaigns can be run and why collective action is so crucial to achieve change. 

There are no limits on attendees and we encourage as many people as possible to join live to take part in this unique event.


Webinar Date:
Monday 22nd November 2021

Webinar Time: 7:00pm AEDT (VIC/NSW/TAS/ACT) / 6:30pm ACDT (SA) / 6:00pm AEST (QLD) / 5:30pm ACST (NT) / 4:00pm AWST (WA)


Webinar Recording:

This webinar will be recorded and shared after the event so anyone who is unable to attend can watch at a time convenient to them.

 

Agenda (AEDT –  Melbourne/Sydney/Hobart/Canberra time):

  • 19:00 AEDT – VfCA Welcome & Acknowledgement
  • 19:05 AEDT – Lessons from the Marriage Equality Campaign (Brooke Horne)
  • 19:25 AEDT – Discussion session and open Q&A (Brooke Horne and Alix Foster Vander Elst)
  • 20:00 AEDT – Webinar Ends

Brooke_Horne.jpgAbout Brooke Horne

Brooke Horne has extensive experience in advocacy driven philanthropy. In 2015, Brooke co-founded the Equality Campaign, the lead organisation for ‘Yes’ in the 2017 Marriage Equality Postal Survey. The Equality Campaign was Australia’s first professional LGBTI campaign organisation which, during the height of the postal survey, employed over 80 staff and managed 15,000 volunteers. Brooke also worked as the Equality Campaign’s Director of Philanthropy and developed and implemented a fundraising strategy that raised $20,000,000 in cash and in-kind donations. Under Brooke’s leadership The Equality Campaign led one of the most successful LGBTI fundraising campaigns in the world.

About Alix Foster Vander Elst, VfCA’s CEOAbout_Alix_Foster_Vander_Elst.png

Alix has led teams to win climate and environmental campaigns for the best part of a decade. She is passionate about the power of collection action to achieve lasting change that protects animals from the impacts of climate damage. She is looking forward to hearing from Brooke how lessons from the hugely successful Marriage Equality campaign can be applied to climate campaigning, and to VfCA’s work.

WHEN
November 22, 2021 at 7:00pm - 8pm
WHERE
Online (Zoom)
CONTACT
James Mack, VfCA Volunteer
47 RSVPS

Will you come?